Stay at home mom: my greatest adventure and greatest challenge

Standard

For the record I love being a mom and especially a stay at home mom.  I fully realize how blessed I am to be with my kids 24/7.  I also realize many women don’t want to, or simply can’t, stay home with the kids.  I am not judging.  I don’t think I am a better mom because I’m a stay at home mom.  I’m grateful to have the option.  For me, I would choose second hand clothes over a power suit any day.  That’s how I’m built.  My heart aches when I am away from my kids.  Yes, the non-stop craziness sometimes makes me feel and look like a zombie.  The green-eyed monster does get me at times and I envy other women’s stylish haircuts and trendy clothes.  I dream of a house, with a second bathroom, that I would ban the boys from using.  For me to stay at home our family has to make sacrifices, and it’s not always easy.  Daily I pray for contentment and wrestle with my selfish desires.  Right now I’m reading a parenting devotional, written by Gary Thomas, entitled Devotions for Sacred Parenting.   It’s a short book with only one devotional a week.  The lessons are encouraging and help me keep my focus on the important things.  If you’re a parent, stay at home or not, I pray that God will encourage you and fill you with joy and, with His strength, allow you to meet each days challenges.

Have a great weekend!  Hope to talk to you soon…

About Mandy

Woman. Mom. Wife. I cook. I clean. I'm a wanna be foodie. Enjoy photography, art, and books and I think in order to survive you have to laugh...a lot! Jesus is the love of my life and saviour of my soul. My husband and sons fill my days with more joy then I could have ever dreamed of. I'm a reluctant inventor and fledgling small business owner. My kitchen floor is always dirty.

6 responses »

  1. “I dream of a house, with a second bathroom” no kidding. I wish we had even just another toilet! But it’s true, staying at home does have it’s sacrifices. But the benefits out weight the sacrifices by a long shot. 🙂

    • It’s so easy to believe we are alone in it or that everyone has it easier or more together but if we were all honest we would see that isn’t the case. Life is gonna be messy kids or no kids 🙂

  2. Everything you said is the truth. It is definitly worth the sacrafice to be at home with your children at any age. A parent of three from ages 7 up to 15 I sometimes think my oldest needs me at home the most! Or is it me needing to be home with them? Whatever the reason it is totally worth it! God bless all the stay at home moms.

Leave a Reply

